Download PDF
May 3, 2023

ECHA Recommends Eight Substances for REACH Authorization


The European Chemicals Agency (ECHA) announced on April 12, 2023, that it has recommended that the EC add the following substances to the Registration, Evaluation, Authorisation and Restriction of Chemicals (REACH) Authorisation List:

  • Ethylenediamine;
  • 2-(4-Tertbutylbenzyl)propionaldehyde and its individual stereoisomers;
  • Lead;
  • Glutaral;
  • 2-Methyl-1-(4-methylthiophenyl)-2-morpholinopropan-1-one;
  • 2-Benzyl-2-dimethylamino-4′-morpholinobutyrophenone;
  • Diisohexyl phthalate; and
  • Orthoboric acid, sodium salt.

ECHA states that it prioritized these substances from the Candidate List of Substances of Very High Concern (SVHC) for this recommendation “as they are of the highest priority, following the agreed approach of 2014.” The European Commission (EC) will determine which substances are added to the Authorisation List and what conditions apply for each substance. If a substance is included on the Authorisation List, it can only be placed on the European Economic Area (EEA) market or used after a given date, if an authorization is granted for a specific use.